My cat ran away. (by Amy)

Freeganomics: “a ‘freegan’ — the word combining ‘vegan’ and ‘free’ — a growing subculture of people who have reduced their spending habits and live off consumer waste” (Hiyasaki, LA Times).

Last night I dreamed my cat came home. I dreamed she mewed her little face and flexed her little paws and curled up warm on my lap. Alas, the dream is done. Tonight I’ll dream again.

On Monday, August 3, 2009, I became officially employed. My first job out of college! My title: the Director of Marketing for a non-profit organization called Green Up. They promote education on sustainability for young people. Great great news after a month of job searching.

On Friday, August 7, 2009, the company tanked and I, along with all of my coworkers, lost my job.

Now what?

  • I’m 22
  • I have a B.A. in journalism
  • I’m a good, hard worker
  • I have a car
  • I have a good boyfriend
  • I have good roommates
  • I belong to a good church

And

  • There are bills to be paid
  • There is food that needs eating
  • The economy is losing

I haven’t bought food in a month. I haven’t filled my gas tank in a month.

I’m not totally sure what all this means for me and the people around me. I do know that these little jobs come and go and saving money is no longer an option. But I still haven’t gone hungry.

My roommate and I were talking about these hipster trends. Green movement, flannel, Pabst Blue Ribbon, kiffiyahs, fixies… eating from dumpsters? Freeganism is a pretty old idea gone trendy. I’m hoping this new lifestyle can be something more than trendy. I hope I can do this.

Saturday, August 8, 2009 marks my first day of freeganism.

I’m only kind of hungry and my legs only kind of hurt from riding my bike around town and my back only kind of hurts from shoveling compost for two hours.

Here we go, God help us.

One thought on “My cat ran away. (by Amy)

  1. freeganism sounds incredibly interesting, i’ve been saving for college, and haven’t spent a dime for the last 3 months…but at least my parents still feed me haha

Leave a Reply

